The no more excuses campaign yields results!

How many things have you sitting on your to-do lists that have not been tackled yet?

Do you feel like you will never get around to them?

Do you tell yourself that you don’t have the time?

Do you think you will ever see the day when they will be completed?

Life can sometimes turn into one long list of things to do, can’t it? Everyone has a lot to do, but how come some people seem to pack so much in and create results, and some people don’t?

We are all guilty of it, putting things on the long finger that is! I know I am, but as this year I have committed to “No more excuses”, I had to come up with an alternative!!

So last week one of my top priorities was reducing my “long finger list”. Some of the listings on there were attached to excuses such as:

  • I don’t have the time
  • I don’t know how to do that
  • I don’t want to do that
  • That will take too long

I’m sure you can relate!

So I sat at my desk one morning and as planning is my thing, I created a plan to reduce this list and then implemented it.

Planning:
This turned out to be easier than I had originally told myself. I decided to give myself 1 hour a day to look at these tasks and only these tasks. I moved all of my “long finger” tasks onto a new Action list and ensured that I had no other distractions for that hour.

Focus:
During that hour I took on one task at a time and ensured it was completed in full before I moved onto the next one. It’s amazing how much you can accomplish when you put a time limit on it! And as I pleasantly discovered, a lot of tasks don’t take as long as you would think!

And the result, well that list has significantly reduced in size and some of the results I am starting to see have amazed me!!

More importantly than that, I have realized that these tasks were on this list for a reason and for a few of them I had lost sight of the reason they were there, but it was a lot easier than I thought to get back on track again.

So now it’s your turn to plan and implement and I would love to hear how you get on!

To your continued success,

Breda – helping you take your brain pain away.
p.s. I’d love to hear your thoughts, comments or questions.
Simply submit into the comment box below and I’ll respond ASAP!

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR PUBLICATION OR WEB SITE? You are welcome to use this article anytime, just be sure to republish it intact and include the following author/copyright information and links:

© Copyright Breda Stackpool, 2010 – Breda Stackpool, founder of Perfect Plans For Life, believes everyone can create and implement a plan to have the Business and/or Lifestyle they want. She publishes her newsletters and articles to give you tips, advice and resources to make small changes in your life so you can dramatically change your results. This free information is available in her “Prioritise Your Success” newsletters and E-book “Becoming Unstuck.

Leave a Reply

