What is NLP and how can it help me?

When people discover that I am an NLP Practitioner, I often get asked this question.

What is NLP and how can it help me?

Since I have discovered NLP and started putting it into practice I have come across so many definitions/explanations for NLP. Many of them can go into a lot of detail and become complicated leaving the reader/listener confused. This is a terrible tragedy as using NLP can have a profound and positive effect on your life so I would like to explain it today in a very simplified way.

NLP stands for Neuro Linguistic Programming.

Now I know that sounds very scientific, but stick with me!

Very simply this breaks down as follows.

Neuro – the thoughts you think.

Linguistic – the words you use to express your thoughts or feelings.

Programming – the way you do things (or you have learned/programmed yourself to do things.)

So basically NLP helps you to focus on the three main things that ultimately define every single result that we produce in our lives. How you think, how you talk and how you act.

  1. How you think (Neuro): What do you tell yourself in your own head? Do you tell yourself that you are capable or you are not capable of whatever situation you are presented with? The thoughts YOU are producing, the things that YOU are telling yourself will have a direct affect on the way you express yourself and how you act.
  2. How you talk (Linguistic): How do you express yourself to other people? Would you consider yourself a good communicator, a good listener? I see this as being directly linked to how you think. Let me illustrate this with an example. Let’s say you are not feeling very confident in completing a task; e.g.  winning a new client or getting a new job. If you do not believe you are the person for the job, then this is what you will tell yourself (your thoughts). What do you think happens when you start speaking? The words you choose to use may express this lack of confidence and hence you may not get the result you desire.
  3. How you act (Programming): Do you do the things you want to do? Do you achieve the goals you set for yourself? Are the actions you take to the best of your ability (or do you tell yourself that they are?) Again I see this as being directly linked to how you think. You tell yourself you can’t achieve something, which results in no action being taken, or you tell yourself you can do something and you find a way to make it happen.

 

So how can NLP help you?

Basically NLP can help you to find the root causes of why you think or believe the things you do, why you express yourself they way you do and why you act the way you do. It also helps you to see why you may be getting the same results over and over again.

NLP techniques will then help you to unplug this root cause, eliminating it and hence changing the way you think, talk and act to enable you to achieve the results you want.

Personally for me NLP helped me to unlock some deep rooted emotions which back then stopped me from standing up and being the person I wanted to be. Using NLP I was able to identify the root causes and change my perceptions helping me to move on and achieve the goals and results I had been talking about for years.

I hope you now have a better understanding of NLP and how it can help you too.

Should you be interested in having an NLP consultation with me, simply book your place HERE.

To your continued success,

Breda – helping you plan today for a brilliant tomorrow.
p.s. I’d love to hear your thoughts, comments or questions.
Simply submit into the comment box below and I’ll respond ASAP!

p.p.s. For the month of May 2011 only these consultations are available at the very special offer of ONLY €33, in person or via SKYPE.

Share

Leave a Reply

